Why Body Dysmorphia Will Hit Every Lifter At Some Point

How to embrace your body in a world of reality distortion

Thomas J. Hahn
5 min readNov 27, 2023
Photo by Andre Taissin on Unsplash

Aw sh*t, here we go agaaain.

Finally, I’m happy with my physique and think this is going to last forever. The feeling is incredible. I feel like I have superpowers when I’m staring into the mirror flexing.

Nobody has such swole arms like I do at that moment.

I just came home from a solid workout in the gym and after a quick shower, I have to take a look in the mirror and flex.

It feels like I have achieved my dream. Finally. I’m happy with the physique I have. Been chasing this feeling for a long time.

At least it would go on for the next three weeks when I suddenly realized my arms were too small. And also my traps, my chest, my legs, as well as my forearms. And then there were my lats. Non-existent at all.

I genuinely felt small, weak, and ugly. Yet, I wasn’t.

The vast majority of people who get into bodybuilding and fitness for aesthetics, looking better naked, or changing their lives, spend a lot of time online on social platforms.

Too much, if we’re honest.

--

--

Thomas J. Hahn

BA in Business; Fitness trainer and personal coach; I'm writing about Diet, Health and Fitness. 🇦🇹 IG: @tommysphysiqueupgrade